Canada

July Special – O Canada

What time is it Mr. Wolf?

First time travellers should be aware that Canada has 6 time zones:

  1. Pacific
  2. Mountain
  3. Central
  4. Eastern
  5. Atlantic
  6. Newfoundland

There is one hour between each time zone except Newfoundland which is a half hour ahead of Atlantic time. Twice a year the time is changed, moved one hour ahead in the spring and one hour back in autumn (“spring ahead, fall back“). It is called Daylight Savings Time and was instituted in 1918 in aid of the war effort yet is still recognized to this day. The only province that doesn’t observe this practice is Saskatchewan.

Here’s what the time looks like for provincial capitals:

  1. 12pm in Victoria
  2. 1pm in Edmonton
  3. 2pm in (Regina)/Winnipeg
  4. 3pm in Toronto
  5. 4pm in Halifax
  6. 4:30pm in Newfoundland

Keep the time zones in mind when travelling across the country. Note that you are unlikely to experience ‘official’ jet lag as you won’t be crossing enough time zones in a quick amount of time on high-speed aircraft.

Did you know…during summer in the northern territories (Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut), the sun is visible 24 hours a day (pending good weather) earning this region the moniker “land of the midnight sun”. 

Guess it would be hard to tell what time it is here in June/July!

Advertisements

Categories: Canada, Tidbits, Travel

Tagged as: ,

1 reply »

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s